Contact LinkedIn Twitter

Martin Nicklasson

Chairman of the Board – Chairman of the Remuneration and Compensation Committee and Chairman of the Nomination Committee

Dr. Martin Nicklasson, (1955) was elected as Chairman of the Board of Directors of Zealand in 2015.

Martin has held various Executive Vice President positions at AstraZeneca Plc and has served as President and CEO of Biovitrum AB and Swedish Orphan Biovitrum AB. Prior to this he held a number of leadership positions at Astra and Kabi Pharmacia.
Martin Nicklasson is Chairman of the Board of Orexo AB and Farma Investment AS. He serves as member of the Board of Basilea Pharmaceutica Ltd., Biocrine AB, PledPharma AB and BioInvent International AB, and is also on the board of the Swedish Heart-Lung foundation.

Martin is a certified pharmacist and holds a PhD in Pharmaceutical Technology from the Uppsala University, where he is Associate Professor at the Department of Pharmaceutics.

Rosemary Crane

Vice Chairman of the Board

Rosemary Crane (1960) was elected to the Board of Directors of Zealand in 2015, and is an independent member.

Rosemary Crane has been CEO of Mela Science (2013-2014) and Epocrates (2008-2011), besides having held a number of leading positions in Johnson & Johnson and BMS. Rose holds a BA in Communication from the State University of New York and an MBA from Kent State University.

Rosemary is a member of the Board of Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. and is moreover member of the Advisory Board of Oswego State University Business School, The Foundation Board of Oswego State University and the Transplant House Committee at University of Pennsylvania.

Catherine Moukheibir

Board member – Chairman of the Audit Committee

Catherine Moukheibir (1959) was elected to the Board of Directors of Zealand in 2015.

Catherine Moukheibir has held senior management positions in several European biotech companies after an initial career in strategy consulting and investment banking in Boston and London. Her particular experience lies in aligning corporate and financial strategy at various stages of a biotech’s development, and she is currently a member of the executive Board of Innate Pharma S.A. Moreover, she is Chairman of the Board of Creabilis Ltd. and member of the Board of Ablynx S.A. and Cerenis Therapeutics Holding S.A. and member of the advisory board of Imperial College Business School.

Catherine Moukheibir holds an MBA from Yale University.

Alain Munoz

Board member

Alain Munoz (1949) has been member of the Board since 2005 (resigned in 2006, and re-elected in 2007).

Alain Munoz is CEO and founder of Amistad Pharma S.A.S. and Science, Business and Management SARL, and has over 20 years of experience in the pharmaceutical industry at senior management level. Within the Sanofi Group he served as SVP for International development and in Fournier Laboratories as SVP for the Pharmaceutical division.
Alain is Chairman of the Board of Hybrigenics SA and member of the Board of Valneva SE and Oxthera AB. Moreover, he is advisor to Kurma Biofund.

Alain Munoz holds an MD in Cardiology and Anaesthesiology from the Hospital Pitié-Salpétrière, Paris. He has numerous publications and has been a member of the scientific committee of the French Drug Agency.

Michael J. Owen

Board member

Michael J. Owen (1951) was elected to the Board of Zealand in 2012, and is regarded as a board member.

Michael J. Owen is a co-founder and was CSO at Kymab Ltd. (UK). Before joining Kymab, he had several leading positions at GlaxoSmithKline, latterly as SVP and head of biopharmaceuticals research. Prior to joining GSK in 2001, he headed the Lymphocyte Molecular Biology group at the Imperial Cancer Research Fund. He has more than 20 years of research experience with a focus on the immune system. He has more than 150 publications and membership of the European Molecular Biology Organisation and Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

Michael is a member of the Board of Blink Biomedical SAS, Ossianix Inc., Avacta Groups plc. and ReNeuron Ltd plc. Moreover, he is advisor to Kymab Ltd., Qure Invest SARL and CRT Pioneer Fund LP.

Michael J. Owen holds a Ph.D. in amino acid transport in trypanosomes from Cambridge University, and a BA in Biochemistry from Keble College, Oxford University.

Jens Peter Stenvang

Board member/employee elected

Jens Peter Stenvang (1954) has been member of the Board since 2014. Jens Peter holds a degree as laboratory technician in biology and has worked with cancer and diabetes research at leading universities including UC-Berkeley, California. Before joining Zealand in October 2010, Jens Peter worked for DAKO and Beckman Coulter as global Flow Cytometry support. Jens Peter has been member of the board of Dansk Selskab for Flowcytometri since 1990, excluding a short break from 2010-2012.

Hanne Heidenheim Bak

Board member/employee elected

Hanne Heidenheim Bak (1953) was member of the Board from 2012-2014, and was re-elected in 2016 for a four-year period. Hanne H. Bak is Senior Project Director and R&D Operations Manager at Zealand, and she holds a M.Sc. (Pharm) from the Danish University of Pharmaceutical Sciences.
Prior to joining Zealand in 2006, Hanne H. Bak worked 8 years as Project Manager of late-phase development programs at Lundbeck A/S, followed by 9 years as Executive Director at the Lundbeck Institute.

Rasmus Just

Board member/employee elected

Rasmus Just (1976) was elected as a member of the Board in 2016 for a four-year period. Rasmus joined Zealand in 2003 and has held various scientific positions in the Department of Molecular Pharmacology, Innovation leadership and as International Collaboration Project Leader. In 2016, Rasmus was appointed Director of External Sourcing and Research Partnerships.
Rasmus holds a PhD from University of Copenhagen and an executive MBA from AVT Business School in Copenhagen.